Needing a shoulder to cry on...

Goldenstar

Visit site
OMG!!! Is that something that you HAVE to do?! That is horrible and I'm actually really shocked at that! There is no way on this earth that I would ever be able to do that :eek:

I don't know about the healthy kitten but they definatly have to go to the slaughter house and do a cow.An RSPCA officer told me that.

Goldenstar

Visit site
OP , I think you will to a certain extend get used to death while I was a welfare officer I was with quite a lot of horses while they were PTS and it did get easier.
However my little horse was PTS yesterday a planned event not an emergency and the vet ( a friend ) arrived in floods of tears but I did not mind because it meant that she cared for him and for me ,no one will expect you to be super human.

HashRouge

Visit site
I did a week's work experience at a veterinary practice when I was 16, and I knew from the first day that it wasn't for me. A cat was brought in whose owner wanted to have it PTS. They didn't stay with it so it was PTS downstairs where the surgeries happened and I cried my eyes out over that lovely little cat :(. But don't forget that if you can get past that side of it you'll be able to do a lot of good :)

applecart14

Visit site
That story sounds more like one of those "my friend's cousin's husband's sister in law..." type things. I doubt it's true.

What if you are an RSPCA Officer and you come across a horse with a broken leg then? Do you just whip a gun out of your pocket and aim somewhere in the direction of the forehead and hope for the best??? :confused: A vet from a practice which I refuse to be associated with now shot my previous horse, and had to shoot twice because he stuffed it up the first time and that was a fully trained vet who'd been doing it for years!