New horse

Kowalla3

New User
Visit site
Hi guys, this is my first time posting in the forums so I'm sorry if something I say goes against the rules or whatever!

Basically I'm hopefully getting my first horse in a few weeks, and I'm going to see him next week, he comes with all the tack that is needed but I'm not sure what to include in the grooming kit and the first aid kit?

Thanks in advance! X

dodgers89

Visit site
In your grooming kit I would have a dandy brush, plastic and rubber curry combs, a hoof pick , a body brush and possibly a mane and tail brush although you could use the dandy brush for that. I would definitely get some purple spray for your first aid kit and some dressings. Good luck! :)

Meowy Catkin

Meow!
Visit site
First aid kit - Hibiscrub, cotton wool, yellow summer fly cream, nappies (for babies, they make great hoof poultices), animalintex, vet wrap/cohesive bandage, gaffer tape.

I have a lot more stuff in mine, but they are the things I use most and like to keep in stock. So if a horse gets a small cut (doesn't need a Vet) I can dilute some hibiscrub and clean it. If the flies are about, I can put the yellow summer fly cream on it to stop the flies landing on it. If the horse needs to have a hoof poulticed I can use the animalintex or a nappy, with a cohesive bandage to hold it on, then gaffer tape over the top to waterproof it. Where the horse 'skins' itself (pulls the fur off, but the skin is intact) I leave that alone. Anything deep, over a joint or obviously needs stitching and the Vet is called. I once had a horse get a nasty leg injury that was really bleeding, I put a pad of animalintex over the cut, held on by a cohesive bandage to stem the flow while the Vet was on her way.