New puppy

On the Hoof

Visit site
So I am very excited as I will soon be getting a brand new BC puppy (hopefully piccy below sorry if too big ). It is over 20 years since I had a puppy – all my dogs since then were rescue dogs so Im as anxious to get it right as I am excited to have a puppy. I am also new to BC’s , its been my life dream to have one but have never had enough time until now to take one on. Hoping that we might do agility.
I see in the ‘stickies’ section that there is a recommendation for reading, but if anyone else has any other recommendations, particularly BC specific I would be grateful to hear from you. I always feel more prepared if I have something to read!
I have hopefully found a local dog trainer which does puppy foundation classes and am waiting to hear if there is space for us. What else do I need to do before puppy arrives? I shall start looking at the house from puppy level at the weekend to start puppy proofing process. She will arrive in 4-5 weeks.

first piccy of Dottie.jpgfirst piccy of Dottie.jpgfirst piccy of Dottie.jpg

albeg

Visit site
No help on what else you need to do, it's also 20 years since I had a puppy (and I was still in primary school so I mainly looked after the playtime and morning feeding 😂), but she's very cute, congrats!

Clodagh

Visit site
She is beautiful. Just remember puppy stage doesn't last long, and enjoy the good bits as at least once a week for the first few I say we are never getting another one.
Like a child or a horse, just set her up to succeed and if she doesn't do what you ask it is always because you haven't explained it clearly enough. Everything she does now, which is cute, will it still be cute when full grown?

PapaverFollis

Visit site
My go to puppy book is The Perfect Puppy by Gwen somebody. I just think it's easy to follow and covers all the bases.

Also she's too cute and I'm officially broody. Lol.

splashgirl45

Lurcher lover
Visit site