Novice DTM is walk to canter allowed?

Walrus

Well-Known Member
Joined
16 January 2007
Messages
2,433
Visit site
As title, I'm sure I've seen people do walk to canter in novice freestyle tests and it's not listed as a prohibited movement. However have seen it mentioned as not being allowed on a couple of websites and threads.

Thanks :)
 
No as us from level above. You are only allowed to do movements that are included in tests at that level.
 
Watched a few on YouTube and people do seem to include it but don't know if they were penalised. Hmmmmm, might put in couple of trot strides to be safe, although direct from walk to canter looks so much better.
 
Thank you. Might see how we go, if he's anticipating and the canter music starts I may not have a choice! Think I'll email bd as well but as music is on Monday I'll have to make a decision before then!
 
I have a walk to canter in my floor plan at Novice, very excited measuring his paces ect for his music tomorrow
 
It is allowed as its in one test at that level but its not on the compulsory list which is why some people think you cannot use it, especially if they have not riden 39 so don't realise its in there
 
Sorry ester you're wrong there. Walk to canter is included at Novice level therefore perfectly permissable in a Freestyle. I've done it at Regional level for years.
 
Just check the rule book! It's online, easy to find and will give you the information you need - and it will be 100% accurate :)

http://www.britishdressage.co.uk/uploads/File/Rules 2015/BD Memebers Handbook 2015 Web File.pdf

Thanks leg_end, I have actually looked at the rule book (I know it's surprising!) and at the official published novice dtm guide / score sheet and walk to canter is not specified as a prohibited movement. However I was a bit confused as there is the ambiguous statement that anything that only occurs at a higher level us not allowed. I'm not familiar with all the novice tests as I only buy them individually from dressage diagrams, so I thought I would ask on here. Seems to be a bit of confusion in people's answers so maybe it's not as clear as it could be. Seems from the responses on here it's allowed. :)
 
Top