Paddock overseeding, weed spraying and muck spreading questions

HelsB

Visit site
I need to do the following field maintenance jobs and was wondering if any experts out there could suggest which order, and when I should do them all (and the reasons why I should do them in that order?)

- Broadcast spraying - mainly for Ragwort and Buttercups (thinking Headland Polo for this?)
- Overseeding with a broadcast spreader with a ryegrass free seed mix
- Spreading of well rotten down muck and harrowing

Anyone?

janeprince

Visit site
I will say first that I have never done this before but this is how I was reccommended.

Harrow field , broadcast seed, lightly over harrow or roll.
Wait approx 2 weeks spread fertiliser.

Don't know about the weed killer.

This may be totally wrong, I will let you know in 3 weeks when I fertilise my newly oversown grass seed.

Maisy

Visit site
I always thought you shouldnt feed new grass???

(Thats in a garden, so could be different on grazing land...)

alison247

Visit site
We rolled and harrowed last weekend.
Grass seed and weedkiller midweek and today fertilized.
So all done over 6 days!!!
Will weed kill again in June and September.
Grass seed patches again in september also.
Have done this for the last ten years and always overgrassed!
3 acres, 3 ponies.
Hope that helps.

horserugsnot4u

Visit site