part loan - prices and expectations

princestar

Visit site
I am looking to part loan my horse between one and five days a week... I have never done it before so I don't know what price to ask.

My horse is 15hh, 6 year old, he hacks alone and in company, walks trots and canter in the school. He is newly backed, so still learning and needs time and patience to bring his full potential out.

He is hard to catch, this comes with time and patience and a few pony nuts haha.

I am thinking about how much to ask per week, what they do and don't do during their days.

He is on diy livery, which is 150 a month. I need someone to do a couple of days, treat him as their own and on their days do everything I usually do.

I am thinking, muck out, do hay, made feed, fill water. Ride/lunge/hack etc.

My yard has a sand school, which is free to use, an ec next door for shows and indoor school in winter. Brilliant hacking off road and plenty of people to ride with. He will not be moved to another yard, at all, not even being considered.

I don't know how to set this up, I don't want to find an Ideal person who is thdn not wanting to pay the pricd I ask, and walk away but I don't want to loan him out and then not get any thing back to help me with the costs.

Advice please :)

Polos Mum

Visit site
As a youngster who needs work and tricky to catch and youwant them to do chores you probably won't get any cash.

I'd be vetting people very carefully to share a youngster

I've only part loaned lovely schoolmasters, not asked them to do chores (well top up an empty water bucket and the odd skip out aside) and I asked for £20 a week for 3 days riding and I took them out competing often

princestar

Visit site
Hi Polos Mum

Yard chores are completely optional, dont want to, dont do it, sort of thing as im still happy to do the chores around the yard.

Im not expecting £20 a week+, simply someone to buy a fee bales hay/bedding a month but someone to care for him as their own.