Payment before transport.

Myma81

Visit site
I'm ready to arrange transport for a horse I'm buying.

Do I pay for her in full by bank transfer and trust that she will be delivered to me?
Do I ask for a written receipt or is it okay via text.
I've never done this before and I'm anxious that it might not go to plan.

Looking to use Pony Express UK for transport. Any idea whether they are a decent company?

be positive

Visit site
The vendor will not let her go without payment, from that point you are the owner and your contract for safe delivery is with the transporters, no idea about them so maybe a thread in tack room would help, I would want the vendor to put a written receipt in with the passport so everything arrives together, the receipt is your proof of ownership not the passport.

I assume the vetting went ok, good luck with your new horse, I am sure it will all go to plan.

FestiveFuzz

Visit site
My youngster came from Germany, payment was wired to the seller a few hours before the transporter arrived and insurance was arranged to cover him as soon as payment was made. I find it unlikely any seller would let a horse leave their care without full payment.

Kahlua

Visit site
My youngster came from Germany, payment was wired to the seller a few hours before the transporter arrived and insurance was arranged to cover him as soon as payment was made. I find it unlikely any seller would let a horse leave their care without full payment.
Sorry to hijac as this is off topic but may I ask what insurance you used? Will be bringing over a young one soon and am researching this currently.

FestiveFuzz

Visit site
Sorry to hijac as this is off topic but may I ask what insurance you used? Will be bringing over a young one soon and am researching this currently.