Physiotherapist career

Visit site
Hi I need some advice, I want to become a vetaninary physiotherapist for horses and dogs, and I'm in my final year of secondary school, but I don't know how to become one, do I take A-levels or an equine course?? Do I have to become a human physio first?

As I've asked my careers officer and the only advice she can give is I need to be a doctor because no one needs a vetaniary physio therapist 😒😒😒😒😒

Any advice will be greatly appreciated

teapot

Visit site
A-levels and a vet physio degree, or human physio degree and a vet physio Master's degree to convert.

Definitely do your A-levels over an equine course, they'll open more doors and keep other doors open.

PorkChop

Visit site
My daughter is planning to do this.

She is doing highers in the required subjects, then the human physio degree and then the Vet physio degree.

We are in Scotland so Edinburgh Universty is her choice, which luckily is one of the best.

If you find out the University you want to go to, they have all the information on their websites. Also ask your Vet where they would recommend - your careers officer sounds pants!

Orangehorse

Visit site
Yep, do the human physio course first. Physio used to be very hard to get into, don't mention horses at the interview!
If you are a human physio too, it does mean that you can earn a living from that without doing the horses. It is actually a very long training.

Miraculous

New User
Visit site
I had this same thing and am just in my last year of my human course after taking a few years break from studying after A levels and when the uni fees went up. I spent a LONG time weighing up the pros and cons and had offers for both human and animal courses.

This is what I found when I looked into it: