Physiotherapist Qualifications - any info?

MandyMoo

Visit site
I am currently studying a Biology degree at university, in my 2nd year, but am starting to think about what i want to do at the end of it, and i would like to work with animals (originally applied to do veterinary medicine but got AAC results and not AAA at A level so did Biology instead).
However, i was looking into doing a diploma in animal physiotherapy.. and was just wondering what people knew about them, and whether they're taken as a 'real' qualification in the equine/canine world?

The course is 1 to 2 year course, with coursework, practical sessions and theory - and i would end with a Canine and Equine Physiotherapy Training (CEPT) certificate and qualification and could call myself an animal physiotherapist officially and start working on horses and dogs.

However, i would be working for myself - does anyone know roughly what physiotherapists charge per hour for horse therapy?

Just trying to sort out a life plan for myself, and finding it rather difficult!!!

Batgirl

Visit site
Mine charges £35 a session, more for an assessment as they are longer (I think £45). You may want to find out if those with the animal physio qual charge any differently as I would only have one who had done a full physio degree and then done Equine physio though I know plenty who don't mind (it is my own bent because I have a physio degree :p ).

Also location may make a big difference as I know it can be more expensive darn sarth :)

Don't forget to look into the insurance too so you can take that into account as it can be quite high, and registration to the professional body if applicable.

I don't know much about the qual you are talking about but I hope my ramblings have been of vague interest :)

MandyMoo

Visit site