Racing Saddles... best tactics for staying on?

RachelFerd

www.facebook.com
partly inspired by HHO, I am doing some morning work at a flat racing yard - a bulk of the time is spent riding out - most of the horses are 2 or 3 years old, and all are ridden in teeny-weeny half tree race exercise saddles.

I have stayed on top so far - but I am little worried about staying put for the inevitable broncing fit - I am usually not bad at staying on, but I have realized I am totally reliant on my knee rolls - how do I stay in the plate? I have visions of loose horses running rider-less across the downs...

Genesis

Visit site
Glue!
grin.gif

seabiscuit

Visit site
I am no expert but do you have your feet well wedged in? the stirrup treads should be right up to the heel on your boot. Also have reins tightly bridged and leaning right into the neck holding the neckstrap at the same time.
When they are being silly, hips&bottom go as far out as possible, and legs further forward and hands pressed into the neck.
Also you should be allowed to have the stirrups longer if you feel more comfortable like that for the time being ?

natalia

Visit site
hehehe! its deff difficult to get used to, i rode out a for a while and found the first few times i rode in a racing saddle and the horse had a moment i came straight off, but in the end it not not too bad, you just get used to it, as siad legs forward and put yourself in the back wards number 7 possition.

MillbrookSong

heartbuster.blogspot.com
1st tips is not to ride to short and unlike what OB said do not have your feet wedged in the irons as if they do spook and you fall your foot will not come out!

2nd is that your neckstrap is your best friend - hold on to it at all times!

3rd tip would probably stay relaxed this way if they do jink or spook you are more likely to stay with them!

Follow these and *i will give myself the kiss of death now* but am in my 3rd season and not fallen off in many a sticky situation!!

seabiscuit