Restricted By-Way/Definitive map query (pics)

autumn7

Visit site
I’ve been riding a local Restricted By-Way for nigh on 25 years. It’s a track half a mile long linking two minor roads. The landowner dislikes the route being used and for many years has a padlocked metal barrier at one entrance with bricks and rubble within long grass at one side of the barrier to prevent squeezing through. If the barrier happens to be open for farm vehicles (rarely), I’ve ridden through it. Several years ago the land owner saw me at the barrier. I asked him if he could unlock it to let me ride through. He was hostile, saying it wasn’t a right of way for horses. I was insistent and after an unpleasant few minutes he ungraciously relented and unlocked the barrier, let me through, then locked up again. It was an unpleasant experience and one I wouldn’t wish to repeat.
Roll on a few years…I’ve continued to ride along if the barrier is open but have always felt as if I’m trespassing. Until last month. The barrier now appears permanently padlocked shut and a sign has appeared. (see photo)
I need to seriously broach this before I lose this route for ever. I have now got a copy of the definitive map just to double check that this IS indeed a right of way for horse riders, to discover this route is marked thus; (see 'marking on definitive map' photo below).
Now I’m unsure. Am I entitled to ride this route (marked Restricted By-Way) or not?

18 May 19 b_Moment (3).jpg
Gate with sign
18 May 19 b_Moment(4).jpg
Restricted byway sign
DSC01482 (3).JPG
Marking on definitive map

Attachments

• 18 May 19 b_Moment (2).jpg
    18 May 19 b_Moment (2).jpg
    527.9 KB · Views: 43
  • 18 May 19 b_Moment(3).jpg
    18 May 19 b_Moment(3).jpg
    455.7 KB · Views: 29
  • 18 May 19 b_Moment(4).jpg
    18 May 19 b_Moment(4).jpg
    41.9 KB · Views: 28
Last edited:

autumn7

Visit site