Riding again after a long break

Lexi_

Visit site
Hi all

Today I took the plunge and booked a riding lesson. It'll be my first one in about 12 years and I was stupidly nervous about even making the phone call!

As a bit of background, I started riding when I was 7 and then worked weekends and summer hols at a good riding school until I was 18. I joined the uni riding club in first year but it was a bit cliquey so I didn't stay beyond the initial year. Then I was fat and poor for most of my 20s so riding didn't happen.

I'm now 30, a lot less fat (hurrah!) and still poor (working for a charity is awesome but won't ever make me rich). It's hit me over the last year or so just how much I miss my horsey days. I probably won't ever be able to afford my own horse but ideally I'd like to look at sharing at some point and I know I need to get myself fully back into it before I can even start to think about that.

So, has anyone else gone back to riding after a 10+ year break and if so, how did you find it? I'm expecting to be wobbly and rubbish for a while (hacked out on a friend's Fell pony fairly recently and had to cling onto the mane in canter - I felt very feeble, even though I know it was the sensible thing to do). I'm just hoping it won't take forever to get back to a decent standard...

teacups

Visit site
Ooh, congratulations and well done!
All those muscles which are used in riding but for almost nothing else will hurt afterwards - a lot - but that will go away with regular riding, of course.
I got back into riding at 40 after a 15-yr break, and discovered that I had to learn a new style of riding! No more gripping with the knees, for a start. If all you're doing is refreshing your skills, I don't think it will take long for you to get the feel for it again. You'll love getting back into it - I did. Still not a hope that I'll own my own horse, but definitely enjoying it. <g>

Emmac82

Visit site