Riding or Livery in North East London?

cavalletti

New User
Visit site
Hi,

I'm an Australian who is considering moving to London for my non-horsey work in the next 6 months. I am currently also working as an instructor and rider, I have 15+ years of experience training horses, mostly in eventing disciplines. Plenty of experience with young and green horses.

I'm wondering what are my options for horse riding in London? At the moment I'm due to be based in the Leytonstone area of NE London, and can hopefully do mostly DIY though would need the assistance when I'm stuck at work etc. Happy to help with other horses feeding, riding, instructing etc.

Ideally I'd like livery for a horse somewhere with an arena, some turnout, hacking, and the ability to travel to competitions, that is accessible by public transport. However i think i will undoubtedly get my own transport, and realize this is next to impossible in London so I'm just hoping I can find something :) Will look into horses for lease/training/share, all options. I know there are yards here that will take a group to a show, not sure if that sort of thing exists in London :)

I've only found Lee Valley (pricey) and Aldersbrook in the area, does anyone know anything about these or others around?

Can anyone give me some insight?

Cassie

FinkleyAlex

Visit site
Look into the livery stables around the Chingford area - there's Woodredon which will fit your bill, though I think you'd be very lucky to find any yard in the area that is accessible by public transport alone!

Barnacle

Visit site
Find somewhere out of London... I live in North London and commute out for work (backwards I know) and have found many yards there that are easily accessible by public transport alone (I don't drive). So maybe look into places in Hertfordshire that are accessible from where you'll be instead of trying to find somewhere reasonably priced in London!

Pinkvboots

Visit site