Sebastopol Geese

Esmae

Visit site
Does anyone know if Sebastopols stop laying early in their life? My goose is 8 years old this summer and has laid each year, with varying numbers. One year she only laid 5 and last year 30!! I don't mind if she has decided to retire but my old Chinese goose who is now 28, laid until she was 24, not many in latter years it's true, but I was impressed that she still laid any at all. It may be that she wants a year off I suppose, but I am curious if this is usual for the breed. She is in eggcellent (LOL ) health, eating and feeding well. Any info most welcome.

MotherOfChickens

MotherDucker
Visit site
is is possible she's on a break? I am new to geese, my current one lay about 15 eggs and stopped-I was disappointed as wanted some more to hatch-well after a month she came back into lay and is now sitting on about 8.

Esmae

Visit site
Geese only lay seasonally in my experience. Sebastopols usually lay about 15 a year. Usually starting in March, every other day, so by mid April she would be finished for that year. She hasn't started at all this season so if it is a break then it's a year long one LOL !! The old Chinese girl used to lay about 45 a year when she was young, but these Sebastopols really don't lay that well, however I was hoping for a few more years out of her than this. It won't ultimately matter, she isn't going anywhere regardless of eggs, but I am curious if this is a thing with this breed.

PorkChop

Visit site
Mine lay every other day unless they are broody! Can't advise on age though, sorry as mine are only 2/3 years old.

MotherOfChickens

MotherDucker
Visit site