Sharing, buying, loaning - possible nervous breakdown

fruit_fly

Visit site
Hi, this is my first post on here but I could do with some wise advice from strangers!

I've ridden on and off since I was about 8, but never had the luxury of my own horse as a child or the means to buy my own, until now......

i've been sharing and having decent lessons for a couple of years since coming back to regular riding, and was planning to buy next year as a 35th birthday present to myself :)

unfortunately my share pony has been diagnosed with some major problems, putting an abrupt end to riding for the rest of the year although I'm so fond of him now I can't seem to stop going up the yard and helping out. But a potential full loan came up, and then I started looking around, and am all in a dilemma.

Would it be mad to take on my first full time horse as a loan at the beginning of the cold season? I work full time so it's a big deal that requires some routine or part livery. really as I'm not 20 now I imagined I'd find an 8-10 year old that I could buy and spend at least the next ten years with, a forever horse, not one i'd have to give back, although I know to expect the unexpected!

Thanks for any advice, particularly from people who got their first gg later in life x

Jola

Visit site
Hi