Sharing woes

Status
Not open for further replies.

swfy03

Visit site
Hi, I haven’t used this forum in years but have rediscovered it again recently and thought I’d come on here as I don’t have many horsey friends and my other half is sick of me talking about this!

I’ve been riding for over 20 years and had part loans on and off for 10 years now and they have always worked out really well for me. After a break from riding I had 6 months of lessons at a riding school to get back in the swing of things and then started looking for a horse to share last Summer.

I found it really hard to find something but I did quite like a green 6 year old mare that I tried. l thought that with some lessons she could be a good fit. Over time I realised her owner had been quite dishonest about her and she was spooky and quirky in the school and strong out hacking (tanks off everytime we canter) and I found out she had been bought for her teenage daughter who had been overhorsed and given up with her. At that point I did look for other horses but didn’t find anything so carried on with the share. I had loads of flatwork lessons over the summer and we made huge progress. My instructor felt the owner was taking advantage of me due to the amount of effort and money I was putting in to bring her on but I didn’t really care as I felt the situation was beneficial to me as well. I should also point out I’ve been her main rider since the share started doing 3/4 days a week with owner lunging her and riding once a week or so.