sheath cleaning

Visit site
I know I've posted about this before but last time my horse's sheath sorted itself out and so didn't need cleaning but this time it has come back (the dicharge I mean) and is worse. We have bought some sheath cleaner but how do we go about doing it?
crazy.gif
I've never done it before. Also will my gelding need sedating?

Any tips/advice much appreciated. x

Salcey

Visit site
Have only ever done it twice and this is what we did:
Don Rubber Gloves
Make rubber gloves nice and soapy
Then begin to gently rub around the top of the sheath to check the horse is ok with it.
Then begin to delve a bit further
etc. etc, etc
We we staggered as to how high up you can go (felt like James Herriet (sp))
Our gelding really really enoyed it, he use to lift one of his back legs up to the side!! Definately no sedation for him.. I wouldn't like to say for any other gelding though.
Best of luck

JaneSteventon

Visit site
I use ky jelly for this as you don't have to rinse it off. I had no problem cleaning it with general sheath cleaners but couldn't rinse around properly. Echo above it's amazing how high up it is.

fizzer

Visit site
had horrendous probs with my geldings sheath, got a yeast infection right up where you couldnt really see, to cut story short after a few months of tests, swabs antibiotics and creams and a broth solution we were told by the vet to use a mild soap to throughly wash every 6 months so far so good

Tia

Visit site
I do not start sheath-cleaning therefore mine never need doing. Have you thought about using Baby Oil? It is very easy to use - you just squirt it up there and it lubricates and help clear out any smegma.

Biggest problem with sheath cleaning is once you start you have to continue.

runaway

Visit site
Baring in mind that this is your horses delicate area only use products made specifically for the area
wink.gif