Shivering TB?

FestiveSpirit

Visit site
I have just rescued my TB from the field and put him in his stable as he was shivering out there
crazy.gif
It is not that cold today - definitely above freezing, with a sporadic wind and almost constant rain which is occasionally sleet
frown.gif
He has a heavy weight turnout rug with neck cover on.

I have never ever had a horse which shivered before
crazy.gif
- and whilst it sounds an obvious question, how do you manage your horse if it does this? Do you put more rugs on and turn out, or do you keep them in on cold days
confused.gif

PS - I know this sounds like a complete beginners question, but I have had horses for about 20 years now, honest
tongue.gif
grin.gif

AmyMay

Situation normal
Visit site
The wind and rain will do it every time - and my horse was exactly the same yesterday when I brought him in. (despite a HW rug on).

My solution is to have him oout for less time.

Smurphy

Visit site
my tb only does this when he has got wet, have you got a neck cover? I find that helps. I dont think more rugs would help, it doesnt really matter once they are wet

FestiveSpirit

Visit site
Okey dokey I will put an extra rug on him as well, and ask the YO to get him in at lunchtime if I am at work
smile.gif
I am quite surprised TBH as I am sure he has been out in worse weather since I have had him (got him Oct last year) without shivering - but never mind, he can be a cosseted stable horse
grin.gif

Thanks SS
smile.gif

FestiveSpirit

Visit site
[ QUOTE ]
my tb only does this when he has got wet, have you got a neck cover? I find that helps. I dont think more rugs would help, it doesnt really matter once they are wet

[/ QUOTE ]

Oh yes, his HW rug is a Rhino one so has a neck cover included? I check him very carefully every night and he is never wet under the rug, he is always bone dry and toasty warm - except for his legs of course - although obviously he stays warm by shivering
crazy.gif

AmyMay

Situation normal
Visit site