Shoeing the box foot

Kenzo

Visit site
I'd like to pick your brains and appeal to either any farriers on here or those who have a wealth of experience when it comes to 'correct' shoeing, corrective shoeing or remedial shoeing...I'll quote all three to keep everyone happy.
grin.gif

I know farriers can't work miracles on something that will never be right due to poor confirmation but if there is anything that can be done to help improve things then of course I want to be on the case asap not only that but I'd like to know that who ever is shoeing my horses gives a dam and goes out of his way to help improve things for the horses comfort, well you expect that from any farrier anyway but you get my drift.

The thing is, I'm not really convinced or too sure (as I'm no expert myself) that the farrier who has has been shoeing this horse (before I took him on loan and since he's been on loan) is doing his best or lets say helping the situation.

He's not my own farrier you see, as I was advised to keep using him because he always shod this horse and 'knows' about his box foot and the history of it etc, so I agreed with the owners that yes that was probably for the best rather than swopping to my own farrier, at the time it maked sense.

But now I'm more familiar with the horse (as I've been riding him since spring time but didnt actually take him on loan till Oct) and the fact that I've been told that he's occasionally bridle lame (I think its possible ring bone giving him jib and down to his foot but they said no its nothing he passed a 5 stage vetting...long story) but anyway back to the subject again he's been sound as a pound and noticed that he tends to be (I'm finding a bit of a pattern now) that he's not totally sound when and close after he's been shod, now I do think there is more to it than that but I do think that with a good farrier things could be better.