Should I get a sharer for my horse?

hippiechick

littlemill-liveries.co.uk
I have fabulous17.2hh thoroughbred 8yro who is ready to start novice eventing but I have a full time job and not enough time for him. My husband thinks I should get a sharer but I have never done this before & am nervous about it.
I want my horse to fulfill his potential as he has loads and don't want to hold him back but can't bear the thought of handing him over!!
Am I just being daft?? Has anyone done this successfully?
PLEASE HELP!!!!!
confused.gif

scrumpygus

Visit site
Hi i have a superstar eventer and i have a loaner 2 days a week for him. I was sooo nervous about getting someone and i really didnt want a cock sure rider seeing what they they could do with him and ruining him cause he is the most honest horse ever - anyway i had the nicest lady come down about 40years old lightweight who now rides him twice a week for a little stroll around the fields and roads etc and spends the rest of her time brushing him and generally telling everyone how much she loves him and how lucky she is to be riding him! How nice! so it really has worked out amazingly well for me and the bit of time i now get off is fantastic. I definately wouldnt have someone who wanted to compete or do anything more than that cause i already do alot myself and it wouldnt have been fair on him. Just dont rush in to anything and make sure u have it on a months trial to start with.

Cliqmo

Visit site
Perhaps look up some local eventers and find out if any of them are looking for rides? If they have spare time through a horse injury they might be willing to do it for free? It would mean your boy can still go out partying without your truly having to share him
smile.gif

tasel

Visit site