Shoulders back tips!!!

Hp87

New User
Visit site
Ok, so I could do with a few hints and tips as how to keep my shoulders back please. I've been riding for many years but have recently had a break and since returning to it I seem to have forgotten how to ride! My general riding position is good but I video'd a schooling session with my youngster (who is very croup high and so is automatically on his forehand anyway) and my shoulders seem very closed (if that makes sense) especially when trotting. I know I'm doing it but can't seem to pull myself up! Thanks

smja

Visit site
Enlist a friend to yell at you whenever you start doing it. That's the only thing that works for me when I'm doing it unconsciously! The other thing that I find helpful is looking up at the sky, or closing my eyes, for a few strides - makes me concentrate on my body position rather than the horse.

SaffronWelshDragon

www.facebook.com
Echo smja about closing your eyes (if you're horse is trustworthy!) I do this a lot when having lessons as it really helps me to feel the horse, sight is extremely distracting! Other thing is to check your position at say, A, E, C and B markers, a good way of making it a habit :)

georgiegirl

Visit site
Years ago I used to have great lessons with a fab dressage instructor (who was camp as christmas so was always coming out with stuff like this...) but he used to say imagine your boobs are car headlights. You want them on full beam so just keep thinking 'Dont dip. DAZZLE!'

I still repeat that in my head now waiting for the bell to go...makes me sit up and smile :)

AdorableAlice

Visit site
337.jpg

Torture

DiNozzo

Visit site
instead of thinking pushing shoulders back, think about sliding your shoulder blades together and down your back, all the way into where your back jeans pockets would be. This opens your whole chest up and out, making you sit more upright and more elegant at the same time!

soulfull

Visit site