Stabled / feild kept horses is hard work. Opinions please.

Cloverly_Clover

New User
Visit site
Hello,

Well i don't tend to post much on this forum but i was wondering if i could have your help.
Basically i am currently studying for my BHS Stage 2. As well as teaching the sylabus our instructor likes us to think outside the subject boxes a bit.

And this weeks extra homework is to find out about horses who are in regular hard work e.g eventers or horses who hunt. and see if generally people keep these horses stables or if it is possible to feild keep such horses.

So..please could you tell me what you do with yours? and identify the reasons to why you keep your horse/horses the way you do.
Please concider things such as

-the number of hours your horse has turned out per day/per week.

-the breed of your horse and if he/she is clipped

-how often he is worked/compete/hunted

-the time of year

etc

Thank you your help will be greatly appreciated.

Julia

RunToEarth

Visit site
I think druid keeps hers out 24/7 and hunts them all if that helps- and they all look in fine shape from what I have seen on the forum.
My hunters are all stabled- the two at my yard have two/three days turnout per week for 8hours a day, and are in hard work for hunting/showjumping and soon teamchasing. The ones I ride at bekka's yard have more turnout- 4/5days per week for about 8hours, and are also in hard work. All hunt average once per week and all are clipped out. Just upping Oshk and Eric's fitness for teamchasing now.
During summer monthes I showjump, and all of the horses live out 24/7.

EllieBeast

Visit site
My mare lives out 24/7 all year round,is fully clipped (and fully rugged i might add). she is ridden 6 days a week, including hard work - ie jumping and flat lessons, fast hacks and competing (XC, ODE, SJ dressage - you name it!!).