Standardbreds - your experiences?

Amyree

Visit site
Does anyone have any experience of using standardbreds for cross country and tetrathlons? I have a standardbred who has been nicely reschooled since his racing days and is now a lovely riding horse. The more I have got to know the breed I know they can be very versatile and I have been offered a colt which I am thinking of taking to bring on later for my daughter. She is still quite young but is already passionate about cross country and competing in tets and I just wondered what others' views might be on this breed? Thanks.

be positive

Visit site
I have no experience of standardbreds but expect they are like most horses they will do what they are trained to do within the limits of their natural ability, conformation and temperament, so if it has decent conformation and a good temperament then it will do the job if it has an experienced trainer to put the work in, if it lacks jumping ability you may be limited as to how far it will go and how successful it will be, most horses can jump 1 metre tracks if ridden fairly well.

If your daughter is still young are you capable and experienced enough to bring it on so it has miles on the clock for when she is ready to move on to it? you do not say how old it is but do factor in the costs of keeping it, having it gelded, getting it out once it is ready to compete and all the other day to day expenses, it will probably end up costing more than a decent schoolmaster, however cheap it is to purchase now, I would probably prefer to look for a proven first horse for a child rather than take a gamble on bringing on a youngster, I have produced numerous horses over the years and know how easily things can go wrong.

saltpetres

Visit site