Standing hay

Visit site
How many of you keep a field as 'standing hay' for winter grazing? I have two fields of this, and started grazing one two weeks ago - but obviously it is is growing all of the time still at the moment.

Do you find that the fields get less boggy this way? Does the grass seem to last quite a while? I would say I have about 6 acres of it for three horses and this is my first year doing it. They are probably in about 2 1/2 acres currently.

Melandmary

Visit site
I had a field with standing hay but as I am the not so proud owner of 2 fatties the thought of putting them on it was frankly too frightening so I have sheep on it. They are munching it down well but I think i will still have to strip graze so I probably won't let it grow again. The idea appealed initially because I thought it would keep my winter hay bills down

Meredith

riding reluctantly into the sunset
the sat-nav is wrong, go farther up the hill
Visit site
I have 2 fields, each about 1 1/2 acres at 1000 ft above sea level facing almost north.
They are grazed approximately 6 months each. ( Christmas to the start of July )
Last year from September for the first time I owned a reasonably good do-er. I let him strip graze one field until he had the whole field. He was on this until July which is longer than usual but he was too fat when he arrived.
The second field had sheep on it from April to July and I moved the pony on to part of it a couple of weeks later. He has one more section to be opened for him and then he will have the whole field until Christmas. After that he will have the first field until July section by section until he has all of it.
Hopefully next year will be the same.
Neither field has tall standing hay but is at least ankle high grass. I used 40 bales of hay and and a balancer in the winter but expect to use less if the weather is comparable to last year.
The fattish Connemara has stayed pretty good all year.