The Foodbank

Esmae

Visit site
Just to be clear, I do not need the services of the foodbank nor wish to find a way to use it. However, upon reading something locally I am wondering what the criteria is for availing yourself of the foodbank. Does anyone know? Can anyone please explain it to me?

Pearlsasinger

Up in the clouds
Visit site
It can vary from FB to FB. Many need a referral from another agency e.g. Job Centre, GP, Church, Social Services. When I worked in a school we referred families to the local Church, who then referred formally to the FB. A referral allowed 3 visits per week to the FB.

However others work differently. There is a shop locally that operates a FB, which no-one needs a referral to, you just go in and ask. Then just a couple of miles from that shop there is a Community Shop which has very limited opening hours, where people can buy e.g £20 food for £5. All accept donations of goods.
Just imagine being so desperate to be able to provide a meal for your family that you are willing to accept a package from a FB.

OP, if you want to know more, Google The Trussel Trust, many FBs are associated with the TT.

Last edited:

Esmae

Visit site
Thank you guys. That is interesting. I was interested in general. I had assumed there was a general rule. Apparently not. I feel that maybe there should be, in view of the bloke wandering about the local social club with a carrier bag full of pies asking if anyone wanted one as he had been given them by the local foodbank. I didn't feel that this was quite the spirit of it all. I am all for helping anyone out but feel that maybe there is a proportion of the population taking the mickey. Thoughts?

Upthecreek

Visit site