The veterinary route in no longer an option...

_jetset_

Visit site
Thank you to everyone who replied to my previous post and I really appreciated all the PMs I got too.

I contacted the university yesterday and unless i have a science degree, I will have to have two science A Levels at A or B. As I do not have either, I would not be able to apply for the degree for two years and that would make me 31 when I qualified. I have to think realistically because it is £15,000 a year for tuition at Liverpool because I already have one degree. I do not know whether we can do without my wage until that time, and I also have to think that we might be wanting to start a family too which I know is important to both me and my husband.

I have decided to continue with the journalism and try to get as much freelance work as i can. The livery service I am hoping to set up should give me a small income but also the time to do some freelance writing too.

There is also a creative writing course at Manchester University (as an ex-alumni I get lots of information from them) which looks absolutely fantastic! I am trying to leave my options open for lady luck to step in if she feels like it. As they say, what will be will be!

Thank you again,

Rebecca

henryhorn

www.narramorehorses.blogspot.com
Well at least you now know the score.
Why not aim your journalistic career towards horses? H and H for instance must have vacancies or how about finding backers for a local free magazine?
We have an excellent one called Equestrian Now which is run by the former equestrian writer from the local paper.
It may be a much more satisfying path and you would have control apart from the backers..

_jetset_

Visit site
Thanks... It's hard because I have journalism qualifications but when I go for the jobs they say I do not have enough journalism experience. I have already done over eight weeks of work placement, and economically I just cannot afford to do any more free work.