Thermavet Thermal Imaging Camera

vikkic

Visit site
Does anyone have or have used a thermavet camera? I am thinking of getting one and would be interested in anyone's comments on them.

BBP

Visit site
If you get it direct from flir (it's called a flir one) you get exactly the same thing for about £60 cheaper, you don't pay for the fancy vet name. That's where I got mine. I really rate it for monitoring my horses back and sacroiliac region. It's a rougher tool than a pro camera (obviously) but I've used it on the same day as a pro and it compares pretty well.

I use mine quite a lot but it would be easy to drive yourself crazy with it if you don't use it sensibly.

BBP

Visit site
My horse when sore
image_zpsrb5cbxby.jpg

Identityincrisis

Visit site
I worked in the industry that sells these cameras and Flir were the dog's wotsits, obviously they have different price structures for the different cameras but they are a useful tool

vikkic

Visit site
Thanks KatPT. The pictures are really clear. I can imagine that you would drive yourself mad with it. I just did a search for the flir one and they seem to be the same price as the thermavet. Do you know if it is the same camera?

BBP

Visit site
Yep, exactly the same unit but without ThermaVet written on it. It has a different app too.

BBP

Visit site
I don't think it works with Windows but not sure. I had to buy an iPhone 5 just to use it so there are certain phone specifications.

vikkic

Visit site
Thanks KapPT. I just had a search, you can buy them direct from Apple too! Everywhere seems to be the same price unfortunately. I am wondering if I should get the thermavet as they have a support forum.

Equi

Visit site
My farrier had one and used it on my mare to diagnose her issue, was stifle. Very handy tool. I would hate to have one though i think i would drive myself mad with it.

BBP

Visit site