Today I did something crazy - even by my standards

Queenbee

Visit site
After months out of the saddle I started riding ben three days ago, he was super charged the first day - could get no sense out of him in the school as he took offence at the changes in the sandschool, he was like a coiled spring so yesterday I decided to take him for a hack round the 'mini marne' a 15-20 min circuit without a bit, never done this before and only ridden without a bit once in the school. To set the scene, Ben is the strongest horse I have ever ridden and evasive, he will chuck his head right up and hollow when he wants to canter on a bridleway or when he sees a jump. You can stop him, he will canter on the spot and jump around in excitement - never any malice but he's no walk in the park and with the strength, the enthusiasm and evasive tactics combined it gives your shoulders and back a damned good work out :/

The mini marne was ok, the general snorting at shadows you would expect from a horse that hasn't been out in months, and a fair bit of jogging or trying to jog on the homeward journey, however every time he tried, he was turned in a circle and then made to stand then walk on - he soon got the message. he still tried his giraffe impression and my hands found themselves up by my ears a few times. When we got back we went in the school there was a spook at the haylage bales but after that he started to settle back to his normal self.