too novice to share?

E13

Visit site
Hey everyone :) I've been reading this site for a few days and have finally joined up so I can ask a question! I started riding as a child (I'm 20 now) and have had various lessons, and done some volunteering at a few yards. Problem is I've completely lost my confidence - no fall or anything, I think just through being overfaced at my yard positions etc. I can canter (confidence aside), I've jumped some small jumps, I've done a few lateral movements... I would love to get back into riding, but I don't want to go back to lessons because I personally feel the pressure confidence-wise! My ideal situation would be if a friend of mine had a horse, and we could just hang out so I could become more comfortable, as opposed to structured lessons. Afraid that's not possible though! I've been trawling websites for riders needed/shares offered, but I'm not sure if I'm actually good enough for something like that :( Especially as my nerves would be through the roof at the moment. Any insight into this?

Karran

Visit site
I reckon so, my friend at the yard a few weeks back was looking for someone who could just potter about with her elderly mare to keep her from stiffening up. She didn't want some one who wanted to blast about and jump huge things and the horse was an ex-riding school pony in her early 20's and is such a sweetheart.

Keep looking, and be honest with yourself and the person who's advert you're answering. I reckon its more than possible!

liss1987

Visit site
I know how you feel and decided to get myself a schoolmaster on loan as I know how to ride but had had a long break from it and wanted to get my confidence back just hacking and enjoying being out and about with others.