training advice please

horseriderdeb

Visit site
I was riding my 4 year old today and he did nothing but lean on my hands. He is in a d ring snaffle. Any ideas how to stop this. Another thing is that he is not picking his feet up he is being lazy. I have put trotting poles out but this is not making any difference. Any ideas on exercises to make him pick his feet up

NeedNewHorse

Visit site
Hi,

I am no expert and you only have to see how much my own crazy mare behaves to realise that I haven't got a clue! But - some ideas are as he is quite young, thinking forwards if (IMO) obviously seriously important. I would get him out hacking do some/do some cantering i.e get him thinking forwards enjoying himself.

As for the leaning, what are you doing? 9/10 horses lean when we are encouraging them with our hands. Horses will also lean into pressure, so if you apply pressure with your hands they will lean into it, and it becomes a vicious circle. I would (if safe to do so) get a really good long rein and kick him on into a good active trot moving around the school - big easy turns and moves. Then move on from there, i,e picking him up a bit once forwards has been established. Also do some transistions (not just one or two bu tonnes)

Goodluck.x

jhoward

Demon exorcist...
Visit site
my mare was a horror for leaning, i had her wolf teeth out january this year (shes five tomorrow) and it has stopped 90 % of the time.

Happy Hunter

Visit site
In my humble experience:

My mare was just like this - 17hh of Cleveland Girl leaning on me was streching my arms! I moved her onto a loose ring snaffle = and keep 'wiggling' mt fingers a bit - giving her nothing to lean on and developing self carrage, and keeping things nice and light - you dont want to move onto a stronger bit until you know that you wont need to go back again. (if you know what I mean!)