Trying to figure out what height my 2 yr old will make??

fitzaud2

Visit site
Hi everyone. I have a two year old stallion that I'm trying to figure out what height he will make. Firstly, I'm not very good at it, I've never gotten it right. My 4 yr old cob is 15.3hh, and i really thought he wouldnt make over 14.2hh. This guy is being castrated asap, wish the flies would go away!! (he's behaving like a pig at the moment as we got a pony mare for the kids to ride). He's 15.1hh now... he's mother is 14.2hh and his dad is 16.1hh. All along he was quite small so really thought 15.1hh would be his max, but as he's only 2, i'm sure he has plenty more growing to do!!! I really wish I was better at this guessing game.

ladyt25

Visit site
I would say a good couple of inches really. Mine is 2 now and was 15.3hh when I last measured him (was 15.1 ish when i bought him aged 15mths). We reckon he's going to make about 16.2hh. I bought my previous horse when he was aged 4 though and he grew to about 16hh.

bugbee717

Visit site
Measure from the middle of the knee to the cornet band, that will give you his final hight, to get the idea you can do the same with a older horse, it should be the same. You can get a colt gelded at any time, I have had them done at 5 and months up. It might mean getting them ga, but it is worth it. If the vet tells you he does not have balls it can be done with them ga

bugbee717

Visit site
Get a tape measure, from the middle of the knee down to the coronet band will give you the final height in inches, so 15 inches will be 15 hands, if you check any old horses it will be the same. Hope that helps.

competitiondiva

Visit site