Turn out help please - having a crack at showing!

BlairandAzria

Visit site
After having a conversation with a friend I'm thinking about having a little go at some ridden showing (something I've never done before!)

I'm thinking just a Riding Club horse, I'm not sure what else we would be eligible to do really as he's a un-registered tb x (standardbred) 15.2hh bay, i know hes not the best put together but its just for fun and to get him out and about a bit - were not aiming for hoys or anything ;) Here's a pic of the beast http://instagr.am/p/S58fz2Ciiw/

So would I need to wear a tweed jacket? What colour tweed is correct? If tweed I have to wear a tie or can I wear a coloured stock? Generally I've got long black boots, cream breeches brown and black gloves, do I need to wear spurs (I've only got roller balls are they acceptable?) but I don't wear them with him normally, got navy hat with flesh strap and hairnets etc.. Anything else?

Are there any other classes you think we could have a go at?

Many thanks! After only ever doing 2 in- hand classes I'm totally flummoxed by the world of ridden showing!! :)

Orangehorse

Visit site
Don't wear black gloves for english showing, brown only. At the riding club level I don't think it matters whether you wear tweed or a black jacket. You don't have to wear spurs unless you horse goes better with them!

No earings. More important that what you wear is what sort of show your horse does and also how it stands and walks and trots in hand. Will he always take the correct canter lead? Will he extend into a gallop and then come back easily to canter again. Can you do a neat figure of 8 for your indiviual show. Make sure they are standing correctly particularly when you take him out in hand, and in the line-up.

BlairandAzria

Visit site
Thanks orange horse, so brown gloves no earrings no spurs!