Update on my horse

rachk89

Visit site
Got a positive update on my horse that might encourage people that are seeing no end in sight for medical issues on their horse.

Long story short, mine had issues for ages before he got finally diagnosed. He got diagnosed with ks, operated on and we thought he was better. Wrong. He went lame, operated on again in his stifles and diagnosed with chondromalacia. He went on rest for about a month and a half and I put him back into work very gradually since August.

Yesterday, I ran through an intro dressage test with him. It wasn't a competition, I'm just practicing with him to maybe compete online, but we still did it. That's with the horse who my vet thought had broken his leg, he was that lame. She wasn't sure he would be ridden again and if he did only in walk probably.

I still have confidence issues. I still expect him to bolt sideways, which in my defence he has done once since I started riding again but he spooked at a crow it wasn't pain reacting. But we are both getting there, albeit slowly.

Try not to give up hope. I've done that so many times through this, thinking I'm gonna sell him or worse have to put him to sleep. He's such a good horse and I'm really glad that he is happy again, although he is still the greedy sod that steals food from other horses feed buckets in the morning. :p

Pearlsasinger

Up in the clouds
Visit site
Thank you for the update! I remember your posts from the early days when people on here were saying it sounded like a pain response and the people advising you on the ground were saying it wasn't.

Well done for persevering. Your confidence will grow in time as you got used to him not reacting in pain.

Bernster

Visit site
It’s tough when they have multiple things going on and rehab is a bit up and down. But glad things are looking up for you well done for sticking at it and working out what the issues were. Good luck!

rachk89

Visit site