Vet or no vet?

LaurenBay

Visit site
Ok so I'm not sure if this is a silly question, I'm still learning as he is my first dog.

But I'm wondering if i need to take Ralph to the vet to empty his anal glands. Over the last couple of months Ralph has been dragging his bum across the carpet. Not daily or anything and usually stops within 10 mins of having a poo. I'd say this is a once a week thing. Never seen him lick his bum or seemed distressed. Anyway last night we were having a cuddle on the sofa (thankfully wasn't laying on me) and something made him jump and there was a small wet patch which reaked of fish! It came from his bum area. After doing a bit of research I'd say it was his anal glands leaking. So not sure if the glands are in fact emptied now or weather I need vet to check? No bum scraping or leaking today.

How do I check if they are full or not? Or would you just take him anyway?

twiggy2

Visit site
I would get them checked but stress to the vet that you only want them emptied if strictly necessary.
My lurcher has one analysis gland that is more sloped than normal and it gets very full before emptying, she had them empties a few times when she was bum dragging, liking and a bit smelly but it's best not to interfere if possible because it causes inflammation of the area and can weaken the muscles making a bigger problem long term.

Cinnamontoast

Fais pas chier!
Visit site
Add fibre to diet, flaked bran is good. Does he have raw bones?

Both of mine have been awful for this, they are very poorly bred (not saying Ralph is!) and have various issues. I don’t know if it’s related. The vet taught me how to internally express the glands. You have to be very careful, you don’t want to damage the things. At 9, mine have almost stopped leaking. I know Ralph isn’t as old. The smell is unbelievable, isn’t it?

If it’s never happened before, I wouldn’t worry about the vet for now. If it happens again, take him to have the vet express them for you.

{97702}