Wannabe future eventer...(a couple of questions)

doddlebot

Visit site
Hi!

So I'm currently a university student and I don't have the time or money to have a horse of my own. When I finally (finally!) graduate my medical degree in three years one of my top priorities is to finally get another horse and start the track towards affiliated eventing.

I've learnt loads on this forum about the sport (having only ever done the odd ODE in the past) and I figure the best thing I can do at the moment is set myself up as as good a rider as possible through lessons. I currently have regular dressage lessons during term time and in September I'm hoping to start alternating with jumping lessons because thats where I'm weaker.

So to the question! (sorry, I'm a little rambly this evening!) I'd love to do a bit of cross country training at some point as I've only ever really ridden one course but I'm struggling to work out how without a horse.

IS there anywhere in the midlands that do horse hire and cross country lessons? I'd happily go for lessons beforehand to get to know the horse etc, but most places I've seen only do course hire/lessons for those with horses. Reading all your event reports have me hungry to have a go!

Oh and a quick eventing question I know horses get points but do you only get points for winning/placing? Or is it more to do with clears/double clears etc?

Thanks!
smile.gif

VRIN

Visit site
Have you thought about going hunting - you can hirea horse for the day.. Not quite the same but not a bad introduction

TableDancer

Visit site
There must be equitation centres/riding schools with their own xc courses which could help you - for instance, Summerhouse, Gloucestershire (google it) - this is probably out of your area but there must be some like that. Try the British Horse Society Approved Riding Centres and look for places with xc courses.