What is expected of you to do in the fields at livery yards ?

m3gan

Visit site
I am new to livery yards and confused as to how much help is expected from me with regard to the fields that my horse shares with YO's 3 horses another livery and my horse.
I pay £20 a week and just wanted opinions on if it is usual to have to help pull out ragwort out of fields, which I did not know was there until the horses were to be moved into today and there is still some in the field which we were unable to remove.
It is obviusly essential to do this and I dont have a problem with doing it, just was rather concerned that it was left this late for it be done.
Does this sort of thing happen normally ?

Tia

Visit site
It depends on the livery yard and the owner, to be honest.

At my yards, no-one except me deals with the fields/repairs etc. I have never expected any of my boarders to help, however if they wish to then that is great and usually I will do something extra to help them in return.

My belief is, if a customer pays to rent space at a livery yard then that is what they get, good quality space; they should not be expected to have to do anything other than keep their tack areas tidy and care for the horse correctly. If they rent a field from a farmer, then that is all they get and then they would be responsible for the maintenance.

I am responsible for harrowing, spraying, topping and all other field management to make sure my fields are in good order - not my liveries.
smile.gif

bex777

Visit site
Yes I would say this is normal, however if there was a major problem with it I would expect it to be dealt with by the YO and would not be happy to put my horse in there if it was mainly ragwort. (not suggesting your is that severe)

Things like muck removal, ragwort removal along with any other things needing to come out are no problem for me as long as a field is not plagued with issues.