What shall I do?

LaurenBay

Visit site
Need some advice and wise words from you.

The opportunity has arisen for me to take on a full loan. I have been sharing a lovely mare for around 4 months and we have been getting on very well. The owners are just lovely too. The owner has decided she would like to travel and further her career so she won't have as much time for the Horse. She messaged me and said I have first refusal and ideally she would like me to take on the Horse. The yard is lovely and nearby and the mare is settled there. I also have made quite a few friends there already and one of my best friends are there.

So what's the problem I hear you ask. well I already have a Horse who is fully retired. When she was in full work I did struggle a bit financially. She was on an expensive yard and I couldn't get a sharer for her (due to the in and out of work and rehab work) also we wernt allowed to job share so the my livery would quickly rack up with the added jobs.

If I was to take on my share the owner has asked if she can share once a week and I could also potentially find another sharer. I could also job share to save costs. I've never full loaned before but what happens if the Horse goes lame? I am fortunate enough to have my own field so I could always turn the mare away if needed. I don't want to lose the Horse as she really is a diamond and we have been coming on leaps and bounds.

Heart says one thing and head says another. Me and my partner are trying to save for a house at the moment and I am worried about costs. I know I have the time to do her as I've had my own for 7 years so am used to the time comitment.

Polos Mum

Visit site