What to expect at adult camp?

myottbmay

New User
Visit site
I want to take my girl away to camp but i have no idea what to expect! i know we will have lessons in dressage, sj and xc but what things are there to do in the evening? i am completely new to this and have no idea what to expect so if anyone can manage my expectation that would be great!!!

ps. thinking of going to Eland lodge if that helps.

Ambers Echo

Still wittering on
Visit site
Eland Lodge camps are very social. Meals are taken together in a marquee, there are evening talks and the final day is a mock ODE
Which is fun. Facilities are great! The only thing I don’t like is the XC lesson. It’s basically their BE track so you jump a few, one at a time, then wait for everyone to do it. So horses have to be left behind and some struggle with that. Obviously if your horse gets stressed you can ask not to be last, but if everyone in the lesson has a horse who doesn’t want to be last…..

ponyparty

Visit site
Top tip: when telling non-horsey friends or colleagues you’re going to adult camp, don’t call it adult camp. Call it “horse camp” or something else that makes it clear it is horse-related, not… erm… “adult”. Speaking from experience 😳😬

Keith_Beef

Novice equestrian, accomplished equichetrian
Visit site
Top tip: when telling non-horsey friends or colleagues you’re going to adult camp, don’t call it adult camp. Call it “horse camp” or something else that makes it clear it is horse-related, not… erm… “adult”. Speaking from experience 😳😬
I was wondering if it was everybody gets tanked up in Sanatogen and then "hooks up", or else it's soup followed by a whist drive.

Vodkagirly

Visit site
Havent been to Eland but in general, expect to need to pack more than you would for a 2 week non horsey holiday. If its hot you get sweaty and need a change, if its cold or wet you need lots of change.
Lots of snacks. Plenty to rehydrate.