When things go right...

Surbie

Visit site
It's been a crappy month so far. My yard was given a month's notice to quit at the beginning of December and I've been feeling quite desperate about it. I'm new to horses, I'm not great at change and I love where I am - my YM is supportive and the yard has been like a second home. My loan horse is supremely happy where he is and I hated having to tell his owner we were having our own version of a Nativity.

What this has done is throw into sharp relief how great people in the horsey world can be. Our local, and not so local, yards have been great in offering help. My instructor listened to my worries and offered a lifeline of a field if I needed it. Thank you so much to the lovely HHOer who sent me a list of yards to call.

I'm off to a new yard in a few weeks (eeeep!) where a close friend keeps her pony. It's thanks to her I can go there. I'm nervous about moving and it's further away, but the yard looks wonderful and there is unlimited turnout.

Plus, after a gap of over 30 years, today I had my first jumping lesson and Archie and I LEFT THE GROUND! My cheeks hurt from all the grinning and my hips just hurt...

There is no real point to this other than to say I am grateful that though some people are shitty, the great majority aren't. And my big hairy cob is amazing.

Waffling over - mince pie and mulled wine for those who got to the end. :D

Rumtytum

Have Marmite, will travel
Visit site
Really pleased your disastrous start to the month is turning around. Yes there are a lot of poobags out there, but thankfully a lot of kind and helpful people too :). Congratulations on getting airborne! I'm just starting the prep for jumping - light seat etc., Hope I do as well as you.... Did you ever have your second simulator lesson? I found a place and just have to find the time to get there.

Surbie

Visit site