Whoop whoop - sensitive spaniel turnaround (agility related)

NAJRBSJ

Visit site
Some of you may know I have a show x working cocker called Rupert, he's coming 3 this spring and always been a sensitive little soul.

I started training him at agility when he was younger and he seemed to love it, picked it up really quickly and had great fun at training. A bit sniffy at times but a typical cocker. I started taking him out to shows and it went downhill . Rupert would sniff, scratch, run off and generally ignore me. It was disheartening as I thought he loved it but I eventfully realised he wasn't just being naughty but was shutting down with stress. Last year we did quite a few shows to try and get him used to it, having just one flukey clear round and eliminated in virtual every other run we did. He seemed to not enjoy the shows one bit, so in the end I decided he wasn't cut out for it and stopped doing agility with him (apart from the odd bit on my agility field).

Since last spring / summer I've been training my younger dog and taking her to shows to watch friends and accustom her to the environment. She's a different kettle of fish and really isn't bothered at all. We've done a few practice ring runs and she's been fab. Rupert has been coming along for the ride and we've dabbled at some obedience (which seems to suit him). Last week I'd booked in to take Pippa along to a small winter show for a walk around and god knows why but I booked Rupert in to the a steeplechase class. Well he boy totally surprised me and ran pretty nicely with just 5 faults for a little run off to see the judge. His tail was wagging and he woofed his way around :D.