Won't stand still to mount

anniedoherty

www.boxtreegallery.co.uk
Any tips on encouraging your horse to stand still whilst you mount without involving other people holding him? It takes me about 10 mins just to get on and it is getting frustrating. I have to use an upturned crate because I am not very agile any more as I have a bad back and, every time I move it towards him he backs off. He's not scared of it, he's just prefer me not to get on! I land in the saddle very gently and take up a light contact when I do finally get on so he hasn't really got anything to worry about.

He was being naughty in other ways when I rode him today (I am a novice so not much experience of horses other than my old M&M pony) so I jumped off out of frustration and then got back on from the floor with no problems whatsoever. He never even moved a muscle so I am wondering if it would be better to try mounting from the ground every time? Just not sure if my back will allow such athleticism! Has anyone got any bright ideas for me to try or do you think mounting from the ground might be the best thing? I do feel a bit vulnerable when he trots off as I have my leg halfway over his back I have to add.

Benefice1

Visit site
Can you not stand him beside a fence or a wall so that when you place the crate down he cant move sideways away from it??
By the sounds of it it sounds like he is doing this because he can and not because he is frightened.
It will take time but dont ever give up (even if it does take 10 minutes) - this shows he has won - eventually he will realise that he cant win and will give up.
My boy used to do the same sort of thing, swing his back end out when i went to get on and now he will stand at the mounting block completely by himself and doesnt move an inch until i get on.

riotgirl

Visit site