Worried i am not learning quick enough

Louise_Pink

New User
Visit site
Hi, just joined today. I have been learning to ride for 10 months, group lessons once a week and 2 x private lessons a month - very expensive. Im 30 and decided to take up the hobby as i suffer from depression and want something to focus on. However i am so paranoid i am not good enough, in group lessons i freeze if we do one at a time exercises and the group watch - i cant do it. The group that learn after our group arrive 15mins before the end of our lesson, i just panic i believe they are watching me and judging me sometimes ive cried going home because i worry. I cannot get my trot diagonals, i still cant even canter a 20min circle with control (had a big fall last week). Several times i have thought just to give up - but i really want to do this when i am around horses i feel happy. It took me alot of lessons to learn to drive and didnt pass until 5th test as i was so unco-ordinated/nervous.

Any tips please ? how long will it take for everything to slip into place ?

I have even started to worry my instructor is sick of me, i feel like apologising to him for having to have me in his lessons. I am not shy, i am a loud bubbly person on the outside so i dont know how he would feel if i told him just how nervous i am when people watch.

hnmisty

Visit site
Do you have this problem in all your lessons or just the group ones? If just group, then why not stop having them and get more private lessons instead?

And don't worry, everyone learns at a different rate :)

(My sister passed her driving test 5th time. My neighbour took it 9 times!)

Ps- welcome!

JVB

Visit site