yearlings knees

allycat12

New User
Visit site
hi I was wondering what you guys thought of my yearlings front legs. I know he has a good sized splint. but have had it looked at and it will either go, or it won't.

anyway I changed to a new farrier and she has mentioned his knees are rotating outwards? but that she can fix it? his movement has not changed and he doesn't paddle or dish out. I'm wondering if anyone else can see that he is not straight through the knee? and at 19months old can my farrier fix it? I thought they had to be foals or weanlings to fix any leg problems. not saying it is a problem. but I don't want it to get any worse?
20190621_072032-01.jpeg

Meowy Catkin

Meow!
Visit site
I think that you need to do some research into bench knees. I also would have thought that he would be too old for correction, but I'm not an expert.

allycat12

New User
Visit site
I think that you need to do some research into bench knees. I also would have thought that he would be too old for correction, but I'm not an expert.
I have looked into bench knees, but apparently they are not rotating the same way. they are thrbing more out. but with my eyes, they don't look bad to me? and no problem with moving hes straight. I wi talk to her again next time she comes to explain more to me about it.

allycat12

New User
Visit site
I have looked into bench knees, but apparently they are not rotating the same way. they are thrbing more out. but with my eyes, they don't look bad to me? and no problem with moving hes straight. I wi talk to her again next time she comes to explain more to me about it.
rotating*

TheMule

Visit site
Splints, especially inside and high up like that, signal a problem because they're produced in response to the extra concussion placed on the limb. I would probably want a proper evaluation by a vet before agreeing to allow changes to the trimming.