YO's Dog Jumping Up And Scratching My Car

3~2~1

Visit site
Hi all i'm a newbie looking for a bit of advice, my YO's dog roams around the farm its a big dog which is really lovely, but always a bit too keen to see you, as I pull up outside my stables he runs over jumping up and down the drivers door scratching his claws down the side of the door, now my car is not worth £20K but it is only 3 years old and is worth probably £6K or £7k and before this all started it was pretty immaculate, i've tried mentioning it and saying its upsetting me but they just have a little giggle and tell me how much he loves to see me !! i'm at the end of my tether when today I was mucking out, I looked out the stable door and the dog is jumping up and down the back of my car, there was no-one or nothing in it, PMT kicked in and I lost my rag, yelled at the dog and ran accross the yard and chased it off with a broom, I absolutely love my yard its so small/quiet and is basically a do as you please yard, my horses are happy but this is just so annoying, any advice, maybe from any YO's point of views ? thanks.

MerrySherryRider

Visit site
I've had this poblem with my last yard and the farm dogs scratching my car, but don't know how to stop it other than parking outside the farm or keeping a water pistol in your pocket. Its the dogs home, so he can't really be locked away.

Kenzo

Visit site
We had this problem, although I wasn't that bothered with my car (OH's car would be a different story however!) but I could understand how other people would be, think it was mentioned then a sign went up saying you park at your own risk, he's a good guard dog and no longer does this with people/cars he knows, (he's got better) but he'd certainly do it with a strangers car (and bite...he once bit my vet :eek:) but I'd rather him be there than not at all if you see what I mean.