6 year old napper... should I persist ?

watermill

New User
Visit site
I bought my first horse 3 months ago. He is a 6 year old 17.1hh german sports gelding. I am a novice, but my girlfriend has had horses for many years.
We both rode him out at the sellers yard no problems.
He has been hacked with another horse ( 17yr old TB mare) since coming here with no probs, but recently started to nap when first attempts were made to take him on his own, by me and my girlfriend.
We tried getting off, leading him, pushing him on etc but the prob is now worse with him rearing.
Everything else about him is great and in traffic with another horse he is very good. I think it is too dangerous to use a stick/whip when on the road.
We took him to a loval show recently with an old pony for our little boy to do some games on and when seperated from the pony he started to get very uptight, shouting and pulling to get to where the pony was !
Should we persist for the winter? Any ideas please?
confused.gif

Rambo

Visit site
Well, he's won the first battle then
tongue.gif

Never, ever, get off a horse that is napping. You have far more control on top than you do on the ground.

He's probably trying it on, and you just need to persevere with him and don't let him win any more battles. If he has a tendency to stand up on his back legs when put under pressure, then simply don't put him under any, but be prepared for a long stand off for the first couple of times. I'll almost guarantee he'll give up after a couple of 'defeats'
smile.gif

AmyMay

Situation normal
Visit site
As you are a novice I would say that this horse is clearly not for you, I would move him on before some damage is done.

Sometimes we go for horse purely on looks - and I bet he is a cracker. But get something smaller and more common for your first horse. And something that is also older and wiser.

PapaFrita

pilar-larcade.com