Dairy free baking?

tatty_v

Visit site
I’ve been asked to bake some dairy free cupcakes for a friend. I’m a pretty experienced baker, but for some reason I’ve never been asked to do dairy free before! I’ve checked and it’s definitely just dairy free, not vegan, so eggs are ok.

I was thinking either going for a naturally dairy free recipe (eg carrot cake), although the icing would still be tricky, or replacing the butter in one of my ordinary recipes with dairy free spread.

Any tips from those who are dairy free or who have tried this before, particularly which dairy free spread to use? Can it be used in buttercream too?

Thank you!

Orangehorse

Visit site
I have a nice fruit cake which uses olive oil, which is very easy.

There are quite a few Italian cakes made with oil rather than fat. Any butter/marge substitute is still going to be high fat/processed.

If it is just Dairy Free, you could use ordinary margarine, just look on the list of ingredients to make sure there is nothing of dairy origin.

Rowreach

👀
Visit site
Most of the spreads are suitable for baking and give pretty similar results, so you can just substitute it into your normal recipes, but I don't like using it for icing as it's a bit greasy. I make icing with smooth peanut butter instead of butter (the cheaper the better) and icing sugar and any flavouring you want to add - just make sure you beat it in a mixer or with a hand held electric mixer and beat for several minutes - it becomes really light and smooth (and not peanutty really) - I much prefer it to ordinary butter icing.

milliepops

Wears headscarf aggressively
Visit site
i use stork for baking instead of butter, it's cheaper and my cakes always come out fluffy and lovely so seems to work just as well.

i actually don't mind marg for a bit of frosting on a cupcake as it's usually quite flavoured compared to say buttercream in a victoria sponge. but peanut butter sounds interesting :)

Pearlsasinger

Up in the clouds
Visit site