Is it because she is cold?

Marshmallow29

Visit site
I am a novice owner, although I am trying to learn as much as I can, so please bear with me... I went to ride my daughter's pony for her this afternoon and, when I was doing up her girth (very slowly, on the loosest hole first) she bit me. Fortunately, she missed my arm and just ripped a little bit of my coat sleeve. There was no-one there to ask for advice so I carried on as normal and took Chloe (pony) into the school to walk her round before doing up another hole on the girth. I kept repeating this until the girth was tight enough for me to get on.

I was prepared to get off again if Chloe seemed unhappy but she was fine and had her ears pricked most of the time. She did shoot off like a bullet from a gun when I asked her to trot, and we completed several very fast circuits of the school until she got it out of her system, but she seemed happy enough.

She was ok when I untacked her and stroked her girth area and when I put her rugs back on. Should I just wait and see or do I need to do anything do you think? Sorry once again if it is a stupid question, but I would welcome some advice from more experienced people please
smile.gif

katiehatie

Visit site
my daughter's pony is cold when she is first got out to be ridden at the moment as she is very fine and is clipped out except for her legs but this manifests itself by her not wanting to stand still and raring to go as soon as my daughter gets her foot in the stirrup, usually she has to mount super quickly on the move at the moment!

she is also going super fast but i think thats down to pent up energy due to spending the majority of her time stabled at the moment due to the rubbish weather and this is the case with the majority of horses at our yard at the moment. also depends on the pony obviously but super woolly native types shouldnt be that cold even in our awful weather.