Is there anything your horse won’t let you do?

doodle

Visit site
Was pondering this while pulling his mane. Robin is 100% in most ways but the one thing he will absolutely not let me do is trim his ears. The fluffy tufts that stick out. I can do whatever else I want to do with his ears with absolutely no issue. I can be as rough as I want, stick fingers down them, hold on to em, scrub them with a brush. I can use scissors and trim anywhere else I like. But trim his ears with scissors? Nope absolutely not, never, ever. I have no idea how he knows I have scissors in my hand, I can block his view totally but still as soon as I raise them NOPE. I spent 3 years trying and eventually gave up. I have decided as he lets me do anything else he can have fluffy ears!

DirectorFury

Visit site
Mane pulling and fly spraying are big no-nos for mine.
I understand that the mane pulling probably hurts so I just chop it with scissors now. I've been working on the fly spray problem for the last 6 years with not a single positive result so now I just spray her while she walks round me on the end of a lead rope. I'm sure someone better than me could probably fix it very quickly but she's stuck with me!

redapple

Visit site
We get through most things with enough time but there are definitely things she'd rather I wasn't doing!! Washing, clipping ears, carry a whip are the main ones. I can do all but she's not a happy camper!

milliepops

Wears headscarf aggressively
Visit site
no mane pulling here either. Both object strongly to even the suggestion of it. TBH I haven't pulled a mane for years. I used to do hunters and their owner was very old fashioned and insisted it was done. I just solocomb them off with mine.

I don't think I could cut the fluff from Darcy's ears either. He's very earshy (it's taken 6 months to get a good routine to get his bridle on that doesn't result in me getting headbutted ;) ) fortunately as a TB his ear tufts are quite minimal.

meleeka

Visit site