Loan horse

Vix1

Visit site
Hi all,

I'm looking at getting a part loan horse 3/4 days a week. Im looking at a Hanovarian Cob later, he is 19 and t
It will be £37.50 a week, and I will need to sign a contract for a year. Apparently he can't do small circles and can't be jumped. Any advice on what else I need to know as I'm a novice at this.

Thank you in advance.

ihatework

Visit site
If he can’t do small circles and can’t be jumped it means he is injured/lame.

Now that doesn’t mean that he wont be suitable for some light work to help teach a novice but given you are being asked to enter into an annual contract I would ascertain the following:
1. Is there a notice period? ie can you give a months notice and end the share?
2. If the answer to the above is no, should the horse be too lame to be ridden are you still expected to pay for an extended period of time?

Id also want to know what the horses diagnosis is and how the owners manage it. Does the horse have any pain killer? Will other people also be riding or is it just you?

What do you wish to achieve from this share, then just make sure that the situation will help you reach that goal

Littlebear

Visit site
The horse sounds like it has a fair amount of soundness issues - why can’t it do those things?. Is it on full livery or do you have to do jobs also ?
I would be hesitant to sign a years agreement without a fair trial period to be sure he is suitable for you and isn’t going to be lame every 5 minutes.
Who owns the horse is it a riding school or a private person on a yard?

Vix1

Visit site
If he can’t do small circles and can’t be jumped it means he is injured/lame.

Now that doesn’t mean that he wont be suitable for some light work to help teach a novice but given you are being asked to enter into an annual contract I would ascertain the following:
1. Is there a notice period? ie can you give a months notice and end the share?