lymphoma

Taisypops

Visit site
My friend found some lumps on her trusty cob last week, vet was out on Thursday and took a biopsy on them and it turns out the poor wee chap has lymphoma!! Apparently its very rare in horses and even rarer in geldings! He now has ten lumps which are located on his chest, elbow, rump, sheath and his penis. He seems OK in himself and although he has dropped a wee bit of weight as yet nothing to be concerned about. Hes getting referred to the vet school as usual vet admits he knows very little about this. Does anyone have any experiences with this?? We are all needless to say very worried about him x

Floofball

Visit site
Hi there, didn't want to read and run, so sorry for your friend and her horse, it must be a very scary time for them. I have no experience with lymphoma in horses but know a lot about it for humans and cats and know that everything depends on the type of lymphoma it is (there are a lot!) I hope your friend gets some reassuring news at the referral and would be interested to hear about how they approach the disease for horses.
Please pass on my good luck wishes.

JackAT

Visit site
Again, I don't have any experience here, but at least it sounds like your friend has a really good vet. Admitting he didn't know much about it then referring you somewhere that does is a mark of a good clinician and professional.

I hope things turn out as well as they possibly can, fingers crossed!

mongy46

Visit site
My horse was diagnosed with cutaneous lymphoma. You need to get a blood test done to see if it has gone internal.
My horse was fine, and like yours was fine in himself.
I would leave the lumps alone.

SillyMare

Visit site
My little mare was diagnosed with cutaneous lymphoma about 4 years ago. At the time the vet thought we would only have her for a little bit longer before the cancer spread inside and she became sick.